Unlike many modern Essential Mix purveyors, German DJ Gerd Janson is better known for tastefully curating sets than he is for producing music himself. In his Essential Mix debut, the Running Back co-label-head shows of his talents for mixing and discernment with selections that pull from contemporary influencers and progenitive legends throughout dance music’s history.

Over his two-hour set, Janson highlights remixes from Rødhåd, Roman Flügel, and himself alongside tracks by the luminaries like KiNK and DJ Sneak. The German ends his mix on with deference to house music’s Chicago origins, closing out with Frankie Knuckles’ “Tears.”

Listen to Gerd Janson’s Essential Mix here.


1. Gerait – Ksuscha
2. Rodney Bakerr – Jack Beat
3. Gerait – Summertime In Bockenheim
4. Talamanca Soundsystem – First Track
5. Fatima Yamaha – Araya
6. Falco – Eizelhaft (Tuff City Kids Remix)
7. KiNK – Untitled
8. Depeche Mode – Enjoy The Silence (Rødhåd Remix)
9. John Talabot – Voices (Gerd Janson Version Conga)
10. Ethylene – Shine On
11. Cyclist – Incoming Instructions (Alexander Robotnick Remix)
12. The Brothers Grimm – Exodus (Luke Vibert Remix)
13. Leif – Shoulders Back
14. Lauer – Muscle
15. Eric Bell – Your Love
16. Rick Hollywood Pagan – Work Me Trax For D.J.’s (Street Me Mix)
17. Boris Dlugosch & Cassara – Nightflight
18. Joe Goddard & Tuff City Kids – Reach Out Your Hand
19. DJ Sneak – Drums Are Us
20. Tuff City Kids – R-Mancer (Roman Flügel Happy Gerdy Remix)
21. DJ Shanté & Haircules – Temper Say
22. Basic Channel – Phylyps Trak II/I
23. Frankie Knuckles – Tears

H/T: 1001 Tracklists.

Read More:

Listen to Wilkinson return to Essential Mix after over three years

Helena Hauff makes a gritty techno and electro Essential Mix debut

Tube & Berger provide mesmerizing Essential Mix debut