Time flies. Especially when you’re doing what you love, and that’s undeniably the case for Mark Sherry and his radio show. Weekly, for nigh on 10 years, his Outburst outreach has done more than any other to develop and advance the nexus between trance and techno. Mark has been assiduous in his calibrations – edging its tonal needle back to emphasize its sometimes-overshadowed techno end. This judicious approach has paid righteous dividends, marking him out and seeing him achieve the type of rebirth only a handful of trance operators have experienced.

To celebrate 500 episodes, Mark has painstakingly selected and mixed a sonic portrait of his last 10 radio years. ‘Outburst 500’ may yet even prove to be the new definitive of what tougher techno x trance means.

One eye always focussed on its future, the other reverently on the sub-genre’s heritage riches, ‘Outburst 500’ sports both the Future Fire and Tech Gold mixes/discs. Musical contributors to the album naturally include regular Outburst quartermasters, Alex Di Stefano, 2nd Phase, Vlind, Jamie Walker, Stephen Kirkwood and Lostly to mention but a few. There’s also much from tech-trance’s mid-Noughties class too (we’re talking about you Richard Durand, Joy Kitikonti, Igor S, Ricky Fobis, David Forbes and JOOP!). Straight-up legends? Served! Mauro Picotto, Tiësto, Marcel Woods, Ton TB, Marco V… and just for starters.

Angular sounds, breezeblock beats, sharp waveforms, super-hard claps, acid (oh, so much acid!) and FX that electrifies… charge those shock paddles, here comes ‘Outburst 500’!

Across 80 thermobaric minutes, Future Fire future-proofs tech-trance. ‘Backburn’ – Marco V’s latest Outburst-er gets the disc off the blocks and sprinting. From there, well its one speaker-reaper after another. Mark’s rework of Max Graham & Estiva’s ‘Generation’, ‘Bloody Nora’ from Will Atkinson and Lostly gem ‘Nothing Left’ apply the jumper cables. Charging up hard on their heels are ‘Wormhole’ from David Forbes, Indecent Noise’s fearsome ‘War Cry’, ‘Freeeze’ from Richard Durand and Paul Denton’s tech-tribal ‘Curtain Call’. Bringing Future Fire to a head, Mark Sherry drops his and Jamie Walker’s forward thinking ‘trance meets drum ‘n’ bass-er ‘The Only One’.

On reaching his radio show milestone, Mark says: “I’ve devoted well over 1500 hours of my life to bringing the Outburst Radioshow podcast to listeners on a weekly basis for over 500 episodes now. I started my ‘Outburst’ project as a solo artist in 2004 and I can’t thank you enough for following me all this time. To all of my long term fans and of course the new followers that have just discovered me, my show or even the ‘tech-trance’ genre, this album is dedicated to YOU! It has been very carefully put together as a reminder to you all that the Outburst Radioshow is ‘the home of tech-trance’ and always will be…long live the #techtrancerevolution!

Not putting the cause on pause for a second, the Tech Gold disc fires a 21-track salute to tech-trance’s foundation years. Bleached distortion heralds Marcel Woods’ ‘Advanced’ and from their you’re headfirst into Johan Gielen’s ‘Flash’, the Richard Durand Remix of Tiësto’s ‘Lethal Industry’ and Mark’s own seminal ‘Vengeance’. There’s a more than healthy nod to ID&T’s formative tech-trance canon too, with Igor S’ ‘Boomerang’, ‘Godd’ from Marco V, Ricky Fobis’ No Regular and JOOP’s ‘The Future’ all lining up to deal. Arterially between are the timeless ‘Joyenergizer’ from Joy Kitikonti, Picotto’s mix of Megamind’s ‘Taub’, Mark’s rewire of Lost Tribe’s ‘Gamemaster’ and Mauro’s stormy ‘Darkroom’.

Whether you’re a decade and a half deep or arriving fresh-faced on tech-trance’s doorstep, what you’re looking at right here is requisite. Order your copy of Mark Sherry Presents Outburst 500 here: https://outburst.choons.at/500

Tracklist: Mark Sherry presents Outburst 500

01. Marco V – Backburn
02. Dan Dobson – Pressurized
03. Claus Backslash – Save You
04. Mark Sherry & 2nd Phase – Killer Twist
05. Liam Melly – Hackinsaw
06. Mark Sherry & RAM – Nordic Nights [Grotesque 250 Anthem]
07. Max Graham & Estiva – Generation (Mark Sherry’s Outburst Rework)
08. Ikorus – Minotaur
09. Will Atkinson – Bloody Nora
10. Lostly – Nothing Left
11. Vlind – Get Mad
12. Nick Callaghan – Revive
13. Mark Sherry meets Space Frog & Derb – Follow Me (Alex Di Stefano Remix)
14. David Forbes – Wormhole
15. Mark Sherry – Gravitational Waves (Lostly Remix)
16. Indecent Noise – War Cry
17. Richard Durand – Freeeze
18. Paul Denton – Curtain Call
19. Stephen Kirkwood & Frank Dueffel – Aquaplaning
20. DJ Ton TB – Electronic Malfunction (Paul Denton Remix)
21. Mark Sherry & Jamie Walker featuring Ross Ferguson – The Only One

Disc 2 – Tech Gold

01. Marcel Woods – Advanced
02. Johan Gielen – Flash
03. Mark Sherry & James Allan & Dr Willis – Sectioned
04. Mike Robbins – Are You A Freak
05. Mark Sherry & Dr Willis – Seismic
06. Tiësto – Lethal Industry (Richard Durand Remix)
07. Mark Sherry – Vengeance
08. Igor S – Boomerang (Igor S Mix)
09. Marco V – Godd
10. Joy Kitikonti – Joyenergizer (Phisical Mix)
11. Megamind – Taub? (Picotto Mix)
12. Mark Sherry & Dr Willis – Here Come The Drums (Jowan Remix)
13. Simon Foy – Insideout (Simon Foy Mix)
14. Dark Alliance – Genetic
15. DJ Seb B – Mass Noise
16. Kay D. Smith & Marc Tall – Hoipolloi (Mark Sherry’s Trance Energy Remix)
17. Ricky Fobis – No Regular
18. Lost Tribe – Gamemaster (Mark Sherry’s 2006 Outburst Mix)
19. Mauro Picotto – Darkroom
20. Mark Sherry – Fractured 2010 [Take Me There] (Outburst Mix)
21. JOOP – The Future